If I understand the ruling for courage correctly, courage will activate on the turn when your opponent plays first. Example:
Round 1: You play your card first, your opponent's courage WON'T activate.
Round 2: Your opponent plays his card first and THEN you respond, your opponent's courage WILL activate.
Round 3: Same with Round 1
Round 4: Same with Round 2
You play Tatane
3 power, 1 pillz and your opponent plays Mini Mosu
(Courage 2) with 2 power, 1 pillz
because you played first, Mini Mosu's courage doesn't activate.
Your opponent plays Amy
(Courage 3) Power 3 (+3 due to courage = 6), 3 pillz. Attack=18
You play Gary
, Power 5, 3 pillz as well thinking that this is the second round and courage won't activate. Attack= 15
, because courage activated since Amy
was played first, giving her 6 power instead of 3. THAT's how courage works.
Hope that clarifies things. Courage doesn't just activate on Round 1... That would be silly.